Monday, December 05, 2011

My novel, The Rebirth of Mrs. Tracey Higgins, is now available on

I am very happy to announce that the e-book version of my novel, THE REBIRTH OF MRS. TRACEY HIGGINS, is up and running.

If you don't have a Kindle, you can still purchase the book with the free Kindle App (more info in the FAQ).

Here is the description of my book:

Despite his betrayal, Tracey loves and misses her husband. Will she ever move forward? A carrot cake might hold the answer to that question.

From the outside looking in, Tracey Fitzgerald Higgins seemed to have the perfect life. Married to the dynamic and handsome Reverend Harry Higgins for over fourteen years, as the First Lady of Atlanta's Quinn A.M.E. church, Tracey had power, prestige and respect. Or so she thought.

Now, her perfect world comes crashing down when her husband leaves her for the younger Jessica Waters. Tracey finds herself at forty-two without a husband, career, or home.

Tracey uproots her life and tries to rebuild it from the well-appointed guest room of her brother’s home in Montclair New Jersey. It won't be easy. Tracey is entering the job market during the worst economic crisis since the Depression. Her Trinidadian-American sister-in-law, Victoria Lake Fitzgerald, is a powerhouse attorney who resents Tracey judging her parenting skills. Victoria is not happy the "Church Lady" is staying in her home. Shelby Smith Barnett, Tracey's best friend from childhood, has her own issues regarding being a stay-at-home mom and her husband's wish to quit his high paying job. And then there's Harry, the love of Tracey's life.

A novel by the co-writer of the film Jumping The Broom, The Rebirth Of Mrs. Tracey Higgins is a story about friendship, forgiveness, faith, and a lot of cake.

I hope this will be a fun read for readers who like Womens' Contemporary Fiction, Commercial Fiction, African-American Lit, Chick Lit, Why are Tweeners So Moody Lit, Christian Lit, Divorce Lit, I Like Cake Lit, etc.

Tone-wise it's similar to the film JUMPING THE BROOM and to books like LIPSTICK JUNGLE.

I've kept the price low, $4.99, on the American website. THE REBIRTH OF TRACEY HIGGINS is also available in several Amazon stores worldwide (in English) in the local currency.

Here are the links:

Amazon Italy

Amazon United Kingdom

Amazon France

Amazon Spain

Frequently Asked Questions:

I don’t have a Kindle or a mobile device – can I read this ebook?
Yes. Here is the LINK to the (free) Amazon Kindle App software for Android phone, Blackberry, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad, Windows phone, Web OS or Mac or a PC. After you download and install the Kindle App software, you can buy the book and read it on your device or computer

You can also read Kindle books in your browser. Go to using Chrome, Safari on iPad, Safari on desktop and now Mozilla Firefox.

I don't like reading ebooks. Will there be a print version?

Yes, there will be. We are in the process of a setting up a Print On Demand version. It should be available by the end of the year or early next year. The price will be slightly higher.

I see a cross on the cover. Is this one of those super "churchy" books?
It depends on what your version of "churchy" is. If you thought JUMPING THE BROOM was very religious, then reading about the divorce between a minister and his wife, might be a bit much. On the flip side, if you were scandalized by the sight of Paula Patton in her underwear, you might have a problem with my book. There are characters who actually curse sometimes, and have sexy times.

There are typos in your book.
If you see any typos, please leave a comment on my BLOG and we will correct the e-book.

Could you speak to our book club?
Yes, I live in Rome, but we can set something up via SKYPE. Leave a comment on my BLOG with your contact information (I won't publish it) and my manager and I will schedule a time.

Is there a Facebook page or Twitter page for your novel?
Yes. Here are the links.

If you have any further questions or comments, please let me know. I hope you enjoy spending time with these characters and their adventures.

Thanks Bloggisti for your support!


Michelle | Bleeding Espresso said...

Auguri!!! I'm about halfway through and thoroughly enjoying it -- it's not too churchy for me at all, and I'm about as doubting a Thomas as you'll find ;) Bonus? I already made 20 cents through my Amazon affiliate link...sell baby sell hahaha ;) xx

J said...

Congrats! I will show my support. It's just a click away on my kindle. I will wait patiently for your post on self publishing. I am looking at self publishing on kindle also. Please include something on cover art. That is the only thing I am worried about. My friend's brother is an artist. He quoted 600 to 1000 bucks to do a book cover. That's the family discount. I definitely cannot afford that. Help, if you can. Congrats again!

nyc/caribbean ragazza said...

Michelle - thank you!!! Glad to hear you're enjoying TROMTH. You made 20 cents? That is amazing. xo

J - grazie.
I had to pay Getty Images for the photo (prices range). That was my only cost for the cover so far.

I owe my brother-in-law, who is an in house graphic designer for big corporation, a drink next time we're back home in the Caribbean.

I'm not sure what what my manager's husband (who also worked on the cover) charged for his services. I'm going to guess nada.

I have no idea what the range is for designing a book cover. If the artist is well known/established the prices can sky rocket.

Is there any reason you have to use your brother's friend? You might be able to work something out with another artist. I see this all the time with my artists friends. They will barter with each other. Good luck with your book.

Kim b. said...

Very exciting! I got a kindle in October, so I'll go buy the book now! Just bought the DVD of Jumping the Broom at Target while I was home at Thanksgiving but still haven,t gotten to watch it.


Coco Cooks said...

Well I'm just going to have to download this. Sounds like a great read .

Ciao Chow Linda said...

You rock Arlene. Just goes to show you that hard work and determination can pay off. Follow your dreams.

dorinalouise said...

so cool!!! congratulations! it looks fabulous!

Italianissima said...

I am totally going to buy this...auguroni Arlene!!! Off to download it to my kindle!

Moi said...

AUGURI!! I am reading so slow, especially so i can enjoy the sexy times.... hahaha
Let's start a book club here!

Chantel said...

Arlene, congratulations on your book! I'll be sure to pick it up. Your blog link was forwarded to me by Ina at the LA IIC. She has wanted me to meet you for ages. I seem to be traveling in your wake. We know quite a few people in common from my Georgetown days and I've moved to Italy (sorta-long story)
Sent FB request. Look forward to meeting you!

Linda @ Ice Tea For Me said...

Will download to my Kindle when I get home. Congratulations and much success.

I too am interested in what it takes to self-publish, will look for your post.

Celeste said...

as a Trinidadian...I cannot wait to read it!

Anonymous said...

Oh congrats!

I just found out about this and promptly purchased it.

You have my support all the way because I get to live vicariously through you.


somepinkflowers said...

how splendid!

i don't
as of yet
have an e~reader
but i do beleive
there is on in my future...

nyc/caribbean ragazza said...

Grazie a tutti for the kind words!!!

J said...

So, I bought your book a few days ago. It's a real page turner. I'm still finishing my interacial romance, and I found a book cover design company for way cheaper than 600 bucks. I plan to publish it in January. I have some questions for you: how did you stay on track with your book? Did you outline each chapter? How extensively did you research for this book, if at all? I am writing this book as a full time student. I found that making time to write was the most difficult challenge for me.

Suzette said...

Congratulations Arlene, I look forward to getting your book and reading it.

Liane Spicer said...

Congratulations! Sounds like a fun read!

I'm about to plunge into indie myself. Best of luck!

Angela N said...

Congrats Arlene... can't wait to get to it!!!

nyc/caribbean ragazza said...

Thank you ladies!

J. - My outline for the novel was more fluid than for a screenplay. I spent a lot of time on my character's background/stories. I wrote every single day, whether I felt like it or not. Writing is rewriting.

The book's ending is different from what I originally thought it would be.

I knew the arena pretty well. I asked some friends specific questions about Atlanta and the dynamics of their AME churches. I completed all my research during the outlining stage.

Good luck with your book!